Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian team takes off for World Adaptive Surf Champs



Team Updates

Two-Time World Adaptive Surfing Champion Mark 'Mono' Stewart Will Return

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 29 November, 2017 - The ACCnet21 Australian Adaptive Surfing Team have jetted out to California, setting their sights on medals at the 2017 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship set to be held at La Jolla for the third year running.

Team Captain and two-time World Adaptive Surfing Champion Mark ‘Mono’ Stewart will have the group of nine athletes fired up for another big campaign when things get underway on November 29th.

After a 4th place team’s finish in 2016, the group will be looking to finish in the medals this campaign and need look no further than experienced Aussie campaigners Stewart (Gold Medallist 2016), Matt Formston (Bronze Medallist 2016) and Barney Miller (Silver Medallist 2016) for inspiration at this year’s championship.

2017 ACCnet21 Australian Adaptive Surfing Team:
AS1 - Stand/kneel BK Mark Savage
AS1 - Stand/kneel BK  Ben Hurrell
AS2 - Stand/kneel AK  Mark Stewart
AS2 - Stand/kneel BK  Jade Wheatley
AS3 - Upright ski  Dave Munk
AS4 – Prone  Gavin Bellis
AS5 – Assist  Barney Miller
AS6 – Visual  Matt Formston
Women's AS2  Amanda Reynolds
Team Manager  Wayne McKewen
Team Coach  Samba Mann
Team Filmer  Matthew Baker

The 2017 Stance ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship runs from November 29th through December 3rd, 2017 .

Adaptive surfing continues to develop at a rapid pace and after the International Olympic Committee’s historic decision to include Surfing on the Sports Programme of the Tokyo 2020 Games in August of 2016, the International Surfing Association has continued with its ambitions to include Adaptive Surfing in the Paralympic Games, and recently announced that it has been recognized as the official International Federation for the sport of Para Surfing (also known as ‘Adaptive Surfing’) by the International Paralympic Committee.


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter