Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



South Africa specialty event names select few to compete



Cell C Goodwave

Cell C Goodwave Names Invitees on back of increased prize purse announcement

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 December, 2017 - New Pier, Durban - The event organisers of the 2018 Cell C Goodwave have announced the invited surfers for the upcoming tournament. The one year waiting period for this contest officially starts on 20 January 2018, and only one day of surfing is required to run the event to completion. The Cell C Goodwave enjoys support from Sun International, as well as Oakley, and the event will be hosted by California Dreaming.  

The invitees, in no particular order:

1. Brandon Jackson

2. Matt McGillivray

3. Dale Staples

4. Shane Sykes

5. Mikey February

6. Josh Redman

7. Jason Ribbink

8. Dan Redman

9. Ricky Basnett

10. Beyrick De Vries

11. Dylan Lightfoot

12. Chad Du Toit

13 Damien Fahrenfort

14. Brendon Gibbens

15. Sean Holmes

16. Davey Van Zyl

17. Greg Emslie

18. Matt Bromley

19. Eli Beukes

20. Chris Leppan

21. Twiggy Baker

22. Casey Grant

23. Paul Canning

24. Slade Prestwich

Alternates, in no particular order:

Shaun Joubert, Richard Kidd, Shaun Payne, Frankie Oberholzer, Simon Fish, Jordy Maree, Steven Sawyer, Davey Weare, Chris Frolich, Blaine Wood, Allan Johns, Benji Brand, Gary Van Weirengen, Mike Frew, Simon Nicholson, Ford Van Jaarsveldt, Brendan O’Connor, Warwick Wright, Robbie Schofield, Gavin Roberts.

For this list of surfers there was a panel of 7 people who were involved in the selection process, including active pro surfers, former pro surfers, as well as representatives from the surf industry and media. The selection criteria and process is at the discretion of the event organisers, and no correspondence will be entered into.


Cell C Goodwave 2018 To See More Prize Money and Fewer Surfers

The prestigious Cell C Goodwave surf tournament will feature an increase in the first place prize for their 2018 event, with R120k going to the winner of this invite-only contest.

The event is presented by the South African Surfing Legends, and will take place at New Pier next year when conditions are suitable.

The increase in prize money will be broken down into

1st place R120k

2nd place R40k

3rd place R20k

4th place R10k

Lee Wolins prize for Surfer Of The Event - R10k

There will be one other fundamental change in the 2018 event in that there will be fewer surfers selected to compete. A smaller entry list means that the event can run to completion in less time, and thus a suitable competition window becomes easier to call.

The event is a one-day event, with 4-man heats and a no-prisoners sudden death format of high performance surfing. It has a 1-year waiting period and will be run on the best surfing day of the year, with the call being made on the advice of surf forecasting guru Spike from



Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter